GCA Local Adaptation Champions Awards 2024 (cash prize of €15,000)

GCA Local Adaptation Champions Awards 2024

Deadline: 11 August 2024

The GCA Local Adaptation Champions Awards spotlight and reward innovative, exemplary, inspiring, and scalable locally led efforts that address the impacts of climate change and build effective climate resilience among the most vulnerable communities, sections of society, and individuals who are at the frontlines of the greatest existential threat faced by humankind.

GCA Local Adaptation Champions Awards 20242024 Award Categories
  • Water Security

This category recognizes local, community-based initiatives that address water-related challenges and enhance local adaptation capacity through efficient water drainage, channeling, use, or conservation. The solutions must be locally designed, accessible and tailored to the needs of the most vulnerable groups in the community, ensuring equitable management of water resources for all.

  • Food Security

This category recognizes local, community-led initiatives that support the design, mainstreaming, and adoption of climate-smart food production systems that are designed by and for smallholder producers and vulnerable communities along the supply chain. Initiatives in this category should demonstrate how they contribute to ensuring continuous, equitable and sustainable access to diverse, nutritious foods for poor, vulnerable and disadvantaged groups.

  • Urban Adaptation Solutions

This category recognizes locally led initiatives for adaptation to climate change in urban areas. Successful initiatives engage and benefit vulnerable urban neighborhoods, community leaders and city governments through collaborative design, integration into city adaptation plans, and a long-term vision to continuously increase adaptive capacity over time.

  • Local Entrepreneurship

This category recognizes local, community-based businesses that: (1) have developed or adopted adaptation solutions or technologies that address local climate-related vulnerabilities and that are accessible locally to the people or groups most vulnerable to climate change; (2) have supported local communities and governments in adaptation efforts; or (3) helped address structural inequalities faced by women, youth, children, disabled, displaced, indigenous peoples and marginalized ethnic groups that make them more vulnerable to the impacts of climate change.


  • 20 nominees will benefit from publicity around their nomination for the Awards. Four winners will receive a cash prize of €15,000.
  • The winners will be invited to an Award Ceremony at COP29 in Baku, which will take place from 11 to 22 November 2024.


Only applications that meet all of the following criteria will be considered for the 2024 competition:

  • The intervention is being implemented and results are demonstrable.
  • The intervention addresses adaptation to climate change impact or builds resilience against climate impacts.
  • The intervention aims at the most vulnerable communities, sections of society, and individuals experiencing climate impacts.
  • The intervention adheres to one or more Principles of Locally Led Adaptation.

Application Process 

The application form contains a series of questions and spaces to upload files. Please make sure to respond to all the questions and provide:

  • A written description of the intervention or solution in a story format.
  • A short, simple video: interviews, presentation of the intervention, footage of the solution (2 minutes maximum). We are not looking for high-quality, polished videos.
  • Photos, infographics or other visual material to support your story.

For more information and application.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here